Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – April 28th, 2010

Outside My Window: frost melting from the grass and leaves, a brilliant blue sky and bright sunshine.  Cold…but not for long!  Today’s high in the 60’s.  Bring it on!

I am Listening to: Curious George, again!  It’s become a morning ritual.  Just before school, the littlest ones watch George, the olders take care of the chickens and cats and mom has a few uninterrupted moments on the computer before the work day begins…

I am wearing : Fleece pants, white turtleneck and a pink sweatshirt.  Hoping to change into something a little lighter as the day wears on…

I am Thankful For: my Michael’s improving health.  We had a kidney stone scare, thought we were out of the woods, then thought it was recurring.  It seems his problem may not be stones after all.  Have you ever heard of abdominal migraine?  This is the new possibility…it’s a diagnosis of exclusion, and given his mom’s migraine history, it’s entirely possible that this is what he’s experiencing.  Time will tell…meanwhile, everything else looks good.  No fevers or infection.  And he’s been pain free for two days.  We’re praying it continues…

I am Reading: still on Fatherless.  It’s quite a hefty tome.  I have to admit some of the subject matter makes me uncomfortable…but it is timely, well-written and permeated with the Faith.

From the Kitchen: hubby and I shared breakfast this morning…a delightful French omelette with swiss cheese, bacon and basil.  Dinner:  grilled pork loin, garlic and cheese potatoes, broccoli and sliced apples…frosted brownies for dessert.

I am Thinking: about this quote…I posted this on my Facebook page:

“If I were not a Catholic, and were looking for the true Church in the world today, I would look for the one Church which did not get along well with the world; in other words, I would look for the Church which the world hates. …if Christ is in any one of the churches of the world today, He must still be hated as He ……was when He was on earth in the flesh…” ~Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen

I am Creating: gardens!   Earth-hungry fingers are just itching to dig into the freshly tilled soil.  The kitchen garden is ready for planting…all of my little seedlings are yearning for fresh air and sunlight.  The big garden is nearly tilled…rain halted our progress, hubby just needs to make one more pass to mellow the earth.  In my mind’s eye, I’m walking amongst the rows of Jade beans, eggplant, zucchini, yellow squash, tomatoes, peppers, etc…this is such an exciting time!

On my iPod: if you own an iPod or MP3 player, do you ever feel that the headphones “separate” you from your family?  Perhaps this is why I spend more time in applications, and less time in Podcasts and music.  I can’t stand that feeling of locking out the rest of my family, while my ears and mind are otherwise occupied.  I can always stop reading or “doing,” but I always feel guilty when I’m listening to something, and someone says “MOM!” and, after the third time, I finally hear them!  I just wondered if anyone else ever feels this way…that sometimes using the iPod’s audio feature is like putting up a great, big “DO NOT DISTURB” sign…

Towards a Real Education: just…about…burned…out.  But…I’m also encouraged.  The Dayton Homeschool Conference takes place in a couple weeks.  Looking forward to the hearing the many wonderful speakers in this year’s program.  And the company of a few friends…

To Live the Liturgy: As we approach the “Mary” month of May, I hope to spend more time reflecting on the role that our Blessed Mother has in our lives.  I’ll be resurrecting my “Something About Mary” posts from a couple years ago, as well as adding a few new reflections.

Also, on First Saturday we have the privilege of attending the diaconate ordination of one our parishionersa wonderful opportunity for my good young men to get an up close view of this step towards the holy priesthood…

I am Hoping and Praying: that my Michael continues to remain pain-free.  That my dear friends, the Smiths, will be able to sell their home and reunite their family to live the new adventure that God has set before them, that the senseless persecution against our Holy Father will soon cease and that all who attack the Body of Christ be humbled…

In the Garden: harvesting herbs.  Garlic chives on an omelette?  Delish.

Around the House: the mudroom is staying clean!  Hurray!  And empty!  Double Hurray!!  The laundry has been caught up for nearly a week.  How long can I sustain this?  Here’s hoping and praying…

On Keeping Home: Have you ever had to shake yourself out of a really nasty habit?  Two days ago, I found something lying on the buffet that didn’t belong there.  I picked it up, walked into the kitchen (my original path of intention) and PUT IT ON TOP OF THE REFRIGERATOR!!!  Are you getting this?  I took something that was in the wrong place, and put it in the next “wrong place!”  It hit me like a ton of bricks.  I picked up the article, found its owner and within a few seconds that thingy was on its way to its proper destination.  All this took just a few extra seconds…this is my problem.  I’m full of good intentions.  I long to keep surfaces clean and tidy, but have those “catch-all” places…the kitchen junk drawer, the top of the fridge, the two drawers in the buffet…all of these places for those little “unknowns.”  It’s not huge, but it’s rooted heavily in sloth…kind of like that guy or gal that pushes the grocery cart all the way to the cart return caddy, and leaves it pushed up against the outside!  Laziness…there’s the enemy.  I’ll be working to slay that deadly sin this week…one teeny, tiny step at a time!

One of My Favorite Things: repairing a heavily virused computer all by my lil’ ol’ self.  For two days my computer was hit by the worst malware/scareware/fake virus warning garbage.  It took me 8 total hours to undo the damage, but it’s done!  And hubby didn’t have to take his time off (which is precious little) to work on yet another computer.  It was such an ordeal…I’ve given birth in less time and with less suffering than that crazy computer caused me yesterday ;-D

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: I want to go outside.  Soak up sunshine and warmth.  See if the path to the woods is dry…look for wildflowers and such.

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

Our first harvest…the kitchen garden gave us this lovely crop of rocks:

Look at these hard workers…I kept thinking of Dickon and Mary in the Secret Garden…they both love gardening so much!

The chickens had their own bumper crop to harvest…a variety of grubs and worms!


Blessings,