Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – May 10th, 2010

Outside My Window: Crowing roosters, soft breezes, cool temperatures and a gorgeous blue sky.  A warm, wet week ahead…

I am Listening to: the distant rumble of the mini bike as Abigail is puttering around the farm…soft mewing of two tiny kittens who’ve spent the past few weeks inside with their momma…I’m such a soft-touch for kittens…

I am wearing : blue jeans, crocs and a polar fleece sweater.  Still in the 50’s…hope to shed a couple layers as it warms up...

I am Thankful For: I had the very best Mother’s Day.  Mass was lovely, fellowship delightful, hubby fixed lunch and dinner, children cleaned up afterwards and I was showered with gifts throughout the day.  Back…to…reality!

I am Reading: Fatherless is killing me.  It’s heartbreaking and oh-so-accurate in portraying the current crisis of faith in our society.  I’ve never read a book so slowly…it’s painful.

From the Kitchen: Bagels and Nutella with hot coffee for Mom…a cold cereal day for the kiddies.  Dad isn’t feeling so great.  He’s working from home, thinking he may have a stomach bug.  I sure hope not…

Dinner this evening: From OAMC:  Poulet de France, buttered/herbed noodles, salad and homemade bread.  Strawberry shortcake for dessert.

I am Thinking: about our Lady and the virtue of silence…

I am Creating: made a crown for our May Crowning, picking up the needles and the crochet hook to finish up a couple projects…

On my iPod: not listening to very much at present…enjoying the ease of viewing email and facebook without having to log onto the computer…

Towards a Real Education: plodding along.  The Grands are coming for a visit the first week of June.  My goal:  to be done, done, done by the first week of June.  Onward and upward…

To Live the Liturgy: I’m so enjoying my daily “Mary” Month of May posts…it really sets the tone for my day, meditating upon the virtues of our Lady…I hope you’re enjoying them, too!

I am Hoping and Praying: for a private intention.  St. Monica, pray for me!

In the Garden: In my best sing-songy voice…I’m going to plant!  I’m going to plant!  A couple of frosts and hard freezes had us postponing our planting…I think we’re out of the woods.  A couple of hours from now, I’ll be elbow-deep in soil!

Around the House: no comment.

On Keeping Home: see above.  The laundry is caught up.  I’m spending a lot of time at the clothesline…because I like it.  The rest?  I…don’t…like.  And it shows.  Blessed Mother…help me cultivate the spirit of diligence and perseverance!  It’s just so much more enjoyable outside, isn’t it?

One of My Favorite Things: my mom.  She’s amazing.  Everyday, she pours herself into the loving care of my Grandmother.  She’s setting the bar really high…I pray I offer myself to her as generously as she has offered herself to my Grandmother.  Oh, yes…Dad, too!  He’s a wonderful help to mom.  They are amazing parents and I can’t wait to see them again in June…

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: planting, teaching, cleaning…woman’s work is never done!

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

My “biker girl:”


Blessings,