Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – May 28th, 2010

Outside My Window: soft, warm air, gray skies and damp grass.  Jewel-like cherries glistening upon waiting boughs…3.5 lbs. picked, pitted and frozen…a couple more pounds waiting.  The first time we’ve managed to beat the birds to the harvest…

I am Listening to: bird song.  The air is so very still outside my window…not even a hint of breeze. 

I am wearing : Aqua tee shirt dress.  I need to get used to this.  After surgery, it’s nothing but dresses and skirts.  I’ve gotten too much in the habit of grabbing the jeans and capris, so the return to femininity will be welcomed by the masculine presence in the household!

I am Thankful For: kleenex, ibuprofen, acetaminophen, video games and the prayers of friends and family.  The children have been horrifically sick…the worst in a couple years.  Every symptom under the sun…seems like flu…in May!  We’re on day 6 for Michael and day 5 for the rest.  Two birthdays in the midst of all this suffering.  Praying that it will end soon…

I am Reading: nothing much.  Tending the sick, mostly…hitting FB to keep the grandparents up to date on the status of the children…

From the Kitchen: Food?  You’re kidding, right?  No one really wants to eat.  In addition to the upper respiratory symptoms, we’ve had extreme nausea, stomach pain and vomiting.  Toast, chicken noodle soup, crackers and Vernor’s ginger ale.  Hoping all will be well enough for birthday cake and a good meal tomorrow evening.  We haven’t celebrated Michael’s birthday yet due to all this sickness…

I am Thinking: about my upcoming surgery on June 29th.  Kind of scared.  Not so much of the pain, but of the months of debilitation.   The orthopedic surgeon says the left foot basically needs a rebuild.  The accessory navicular is “the largest I’ve ever seen…” he said.  Of course.  Naturally.  “The post tibial tendon has ruptured and must be reattached and strengthened with another tendon…” Ummm…yeah.  “The heel is shifted significantly and needs to be restructured…” What?  “The arch has fallen and will need to be restructured as well…” Ouch. “Two weeks complete bed rest, only getting up for the bathroom and then with assistance…” You’re kidding, right?  “Another six weeks of not touching that foot to the ground at all, keeping it elevated as much as possible while casted to the knee.” A leg cast?  Throughout JULY, AUGUST and part of SEPTEMBER?  Eeek!  “Cast will be removed sometime in September…with a soft sided cast/boot for several weeks and physical therapy…” So…right about the time we start school, again…great.  “50% mobility within four months post-surgery, rapidly increasing as we approach Christmas.  Quite possibly pain-free and walking well within 8 months…” God willing…I can’t imagine pain free.  After 30 years of suffering, which has tremendously increased since June of ’09.  Pain free…or at least tremendously improved.  And necessary.  The choice is surgery or a completely destroyed foot and lifelong limp.  So, surgery it is!

Please pray for me.  I don ‘t do well with bed rest…three very difficult pregnancies gave me a lot of practice in that arena.  My poor husband and children will have to manage everything.  When I consider what a big baby I was during the few weeks after the tonsillectomy, I can only pray that I’ve grown since that experience…I guess we’ll know soon enough.

I am Creating: trying to create a bit more order and a lot of written instructions…assigning household management responsibilities to everyone, from oldest to youngest.

On my iPod: This week has been a Cold Play week.  Feeling kind of melancholic…

Towards a Real Education: zip, zero, zilch.  Kids…sick…all…week.

To Live the Liturgy: All these lovely Feast days…it seems we’ve done so little to observe them.  Just a lot of prayerful suffering.  The children and I were unable to attend Mass for the Feast of Pentecost. I feel so very spiritually lazy, right now.  I’m sure it will pass…peace is on the horizon….

I am Hoping and Praying: for greater charity.  That true charity be my first motive in all my actions…dear God, enflame my heart!

In the Garden: so lovely and green.  Everything is coming along nicely.  The flowers are quite lovely, too…

Around the House: evidence of neglect.  And sickness.  At least the laundry has remained caught up…

On Keeping Home: a clean kitchen.  Two loads of laundry to fold and put away.  The classroom is a disaster…cluttered and in need of purging.  Which will happen this week.  The classroom will become the master bedroom…or “healing chamber…”  I won’t be able to navigate stairs for some weeks, so I must be downstairs.  Poor hubby…he so loves our room upstairs.  Ah, well…we do what we must…

One of My Favorite Things: children who are sick and tell their mom who they are offering their suffering for.  God bless them…

A Few Plans for the Rest of the Week: Plan for the Grands visit on the 7th, a big BBQ on the 12th and readying supplies for my convalescence.  So…much…to…do…

A Picture Thought I’m Sharing:

Loved the season finale of LOST!

Six years of LOST and all we have left are a bunch of Dharma chocolate bars and a few Dharma beers...and eight Oceanic 815 boarding passes.

Blessings,