…my cast, that is!  A lovely, pale summery blue…light enough to allow the children to express their love and creativity with a great, big pack of Sharpies in multiple colors…

Stitches have been removed, xrays taken (dig those nifty titanium screws…just call me Robo Mom!) and the cast in place.  It was quite a shock, looking at my foot for the first time…one six inch long incision on the right, a four inch incision on the left and two smaller on the heel…and it actually felt good to have the sutures removed!  Casting, on the other hand, was horrific.  The foot had to be manipulated to 90 degrees…in other words, flat with the floor.  Every tendon in my foot feels like a non-flexible steel band.  I’ve spent the past 24 hours in excrutiating pain, far greater than the post-surgical stuff…it’s passing now, thanks to lots of medication, elevation and rest.  And the post surgical depression/haze is lifting, too.  It’s been a struggle, mostly the letting go of plans and ideas.  I don’t want to be an armchair General, ordering my troops hither and yon.  I do wish I had a fast forward button…yet, I know, that this time belongs to God alone.  He is still working on His poor, stubborn little girl.  Consider this my Divine “time-out!”  My tantrums probably amuse Him as much as my little ones’ amuse me…He’s probably shaking His head…”poor, deluded girl…she still thinks she’s in charge of everything!  Ah, well…a little more down time will bring her around…”

I love you, Father God!   I’ll be better this time…promise!

And He’s heard it all before…

I’m so blessed to be surrounded by infinite patience…something I lack.  To my Heavenly Father, my spouse, children and friends…thank you so much.  Thank you for your kindness and solicitude.  Your prayers and letters have done much to bolster my spirits and help me focus on healing.

So…back to knitting.  Yes!  I’ve picked up the needles again and am nearly finished with a long overdue pair of socks.  And I’m working on my “talk” for the upcoming Educating For Heaven:  Homeschoolers Day of Reflection.  My topic:  Homeschooling As A Mission.  Praying that the Holy Spirit will guide my thoughts and words…

Wishing all a joyous summer full of fun!

Blessings,