Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – July 26, 2010

Outside my window: a brilliant blue sky and zero humidity!  Walls of corn, towering against that same sky.  Beds of impatiens, zinnias bowing and dancing upon slender stems…high summer and a mere 72 degrees…

I am listening to: hubby tippy-tapping on the computer in the next room…he’s working from home right now…and has graciously handed over his laptop to the recliner-bound wife.  What a nice guy…

I am wearing : Aqua cotton dress with a yellow cotton cardigan.  A blue cast and one white sock.  A smile…

I am thankful For: being released from the terrible fear that had plagued me since Thursday’s fright.  I spent most of Thursday night and all day Friday just waiting…waiting for that nightmare to begin anew.  The call from the surgeon did little to help…no reassurances, just concerns from a new source.  And so I waited.  Every little ache, twinge…seemed to forebode doom.  And then I wept.  Prayed.  And watched this video.  And it changed things.  FEAR IS USELESS!  If our fear is not a holy fear, grounded in hope of salvation and ultimately trusting in God…well…it’s ridiculously pointless.

And I know this…but it’s one thing to know it and another to live it.  To really, really trust.  To say that even when the most inconceivable things happen, all is grace…

“The Lord is my Shepherd.  I shall not be afraid…”

I am reading: you’d think with all this time on my hands I’d be reading something worthwhile, alas, I’ve still been trying to “do…”  So, I’m back to my knitting and currently on my second pair of socks in a week…these using Stroll’s Tea Party…yummy!

From the kitchen: hubby and children have been preparing the most amazing meals.  Tonight, I’ll try to venture into the kitchen and teach oldest son my favorite Shepherd’s Pie recipe…his repertoire is expanding.

I am thinking: about how much joy can come from the simplest things…your prayers and sweet comments…a 20 yr. old young man who brought a friend over to visit, armed with two gorgeous loaves of zucchini bread and one of the sweetest cards I’ve ever received…a long, long conversation with a dear friend…a good movie with the two big boys and hubby…a morning alone with my two little girls and their sweet solicitude…little things mean a lot!

I am creating: socks.  Strong tendons, well knit bone and scar tissue.

On my iPod: mostly hitting the apps, utilizing knitting patterns, listening to Viva La Vida over and over again…

Towards a real education: time for me to take this down time and put together our education plan for the coming school year…it seems rather overwhelming.  I’m also working on my talk for the upcoming Educating For Heaven Homeschoolers Day of Reflection…Holy Spirit guide and inspire me!

I am hoping and praying: hoping for healing and praying for acceptance of all that God wills…

In the garden: oh, the garden is glorious…I can’t see it from here, but I’m enjoying the fruits of earlier labors.  Last night’s fresh green beans and red potatoes were delish!  Tomatoes are coming on very, very slowly…you’d think with all this heat and our early planting that we’d be up to our ears in them.  We will be…all at once…

Around the House: oh, my poor house.  It’s so sad.  There is truly something to be said for a “woman’s touch…”  They’re trying…keeping up with the basics.  We have clean clothes.  The dishes are getting washed and meals are prepared.  But the house…it’s a total and complete disaster.  Clutter, clutter, clutter…at least the rooms I can see.  And I don’t want to complain, so I’m trying to let go and appreciate that which is getting done. 

On keeping home: it’s tough to be sedentary…oh, yes it is!  Yet, there are blessings.  Because I can’t, now they can!

I can’t mop…but now the 7 yr. old can!

I can’t cook…but now the 16 yr. old is preparing the most amazing meals and has such a sense of accomplishment!

I can’t clean the bathroom (yeehaw!) but my 11 yr. can and does and makes sure that it’s safe for mom…

I can’t go swimming…but hubby can and does, playing and splashing with the kids, enjoying late night swimming with the boys…

And so on…with my dependence, their independence grows!

One of my favorite things: choosing joy.  It is a choice, you know?  I almost forgot that one…

A few plans for the rest of the week: I have no plans…

A picture thought I’m sharing:


Max and Buddy…a funny kitten who really likes me, as long as I’m wrapped in my pink micro plush snuggie ;-D

Blessings,