…particularly when the projects are so quick and easy, and the results infinitely pleasing!  I’d been longing to make a few pillowcase nightgowns for my girls from the moment I saw them at Maya Made.   My favorite thrift store has an amazing selection of vintage pillowcases for 59 cents each…and this stir crazy lady was more than happy to spend a few minutes picking out a handful, a potential remedy to the boredom that has set in during this extremely long convalescence.

I found a great tutorial and the only thing left to do was grab the scissors and a needle and thread.

I had forgotten how much I enjoy handwork.  It’s much too difficult to get upstairs to the sewing machine and my foot swells horribly if it’s not kept elevated, so each little gown was sewn by hand…tiny, even stitches.  I rather felt like Laura Ingalls!  The results are adorable…and my girls have pronounced them the best nightgowns, ever!

Definitely the easiest…

Encouraged by the ease of this project, I’ve found a couple more.  A whimsical clothespin bag and an ingeniously simple apron pattern utilizing thrift store skirts, a few snips here and there, a bit of stitching an voila!  An apron in less than an hour…

Do you have favorite recycled craft projects in the works?  I’d love to hear about them!

Blessings,