Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – August 9th, 2010

Outside my window: dusk.  Misty haze rising from towering corn.  Noisy cicadas vying for supremacy over noisy children.  An August evening, in all its hot, humid glory…

I am listening to: those same, noisy cicadas…

I am wearing : maroon cotton tee, blue jeans, hair up in a twist

I am thankful for: this morning’s visit to the orthopedic surgeon and the cast that is no more!  I’m now in a cam boot.  Still non-weight bearing, but will soon begin physical therapy and learn to use this reconstructed foot.  Tonight I’ll sleep without a cumbersome cast.  It only gets better from here…

I am reading: re-reading A Tale of Two Cities. Love, love, love that book.  Oldest homeschooler will be reading this one this year…need to brush up for some interesting conversations!

From the kitchen: delightful scent of roasting chicken, baked beans, mac n’ cheese and cantaloupe.  Chef’s choice…he’s 16 and tonight’s menu is pure comfort food…

I am thinking: about hypercalcemia.  I had no idea that a surplus of calcium could have such a devastating effect.   Now to find out why…surgeon is referring me for parathyroid screening to rule out a potentially serious cause for my high calcium levels.  I’m not worried…I think my problems have been immobility and the overuse of calcium based antacids.  Still…we’ll rule out the other…prudence in all things.

I am creating: have made two sweet little pillowcase nighties, a clothespin bag and a pair of socks.  But I have to take a break.  All this close work is wreaking havoc upon my eyes.  Which is part of the hypercalcemia thing, too…

On my iPod: 16 yr. old has introduced me to Rob Dougan.  Love, love, love this techno-artist!

Towards a real education: well…I’ve written my reflection for the Educating For Heaven mini-retreat and have yet to order my school books.  Hope to compile a list, at least…medical bills have really slammed us this year…

I am hoping and praying: that my dear friend Sandra has a safe trip to Ohio, enjoys her time with her parents and has a rockin’ good time staying with us!  I may not be able to get around, but that won’t stop the flow of conversation!  Drive safe, my friend…

In the garden: A tangle.  A lovely, productive tangle.  Mom’s weeding skills are sorely missed. 

Around the House: A tangle of a whole other sort.  But it’s all good…they continue to do what they can and that’s as much as anyone can ask…

On keeping home: my 16 yr. old is a stellar chef.  That’s worth everything!  I think it’s time to rope the 13 yr. old…he likes to cook, time to expand his repetoire…

One of my favorite things: realizing just how much comfort a mom brings to her family.  Mine is missing the comfort factor.  I have plenty of hugs and kisses to give, but making a comfortable home is just not possible.  But once again…it’s okay.  It’s nice to realize that I have that gift and that my family wants it back so desperately!

A few plans for the rest of the week: Hopefully have the family make the home comfortable enough for company.  Poor hubby is stretched to max right now…we just can’t ask him to do anymore.  And he would.  He’s been pulling more than his share of the load and he never complains.  I’m so very blessed…we all are…now we must find a way to show him that we can carry on without his constant supervision and surveillance.

A picture thought I’m sharing:

Abi’s rose.  She took this photo so I wouldn’t miss the bloom…


Blessings,