It’s been so hard these past few weeks…I know you must be tired of hearing that by now, but I really need to elaborate, for my sake, if for no one else, just exactly why it’s been so hard…

It’s been 7 weeks since I’ve attended Mass.  Our mini van has long been gone, and prior to my surgery, it took two vehicles to transport the whole family to Mass.  Every Sunday, as we faced the inevitable flat tire or engine-light-is-on-again-what-does-it-mean-this-time, we’ve always praised God that our prayer to be able to attend Mass as a family, has always been answered.

Then I had surgery.  The recovery has been incredibly difficult.   For a few weeks, attending Mass was impossible.  Now, it’s transportation logistics.  Every Sunday, two of the children stay home with mom, while Dad transports the remaining four to Mass…his car seats five.  There have been no complaints, just a general sadness.  Every night as a family, we’ve prayed for an end to our transportation woes…trusting that the Lord would answer in His time.

This past Thursday, I attended Adoration for the first time in many weeks.  The Feast of the Assumption was heavy on my mind and so I did what any troubled child would do…

I asked my Mother for help.  I asked the Blessed Mother to help us find a way, just for this Sunday, to attend Mass together on the great Feast of the Assumption.  Please, Mother…oh, please…

Friday and now Saturday.  It seemed that the answer was “no…” And then a miracle!

The children, squealing loudly, rushed out the house to greet a surprise visitor.  It was Meredith.  Meredith, in a car loaned by a friend, came for a surprise visit.  Such excitement, so many hugs and kisses.  We had a very lovely conversation and she explained that she couldn’t stay long.

As the conversation continued, she expressed a desire to stay, just to attend Mass with the family.  The dam broke…

Tears.  Tears.  Tears…

“How long has it been, Mom?  How long since you’ve been to Mass?”

“7 weeks…” that was all that I could articulate.

“Then that’s why I’m here.  I’m here to take you to Mass.  Let’s all go to Mass together tomorrow…I’m sure I can keep the car until then…”

My Mother…your Mother…obtained this favor for us so sweetly, so simply, in such a surprising way.  This is my itty-bitty miracle…but perhaps it’s not so very small.  If someone had delivered us a brand new van, I don’t think I could’ve been more astounded!

Tomorrow…tomorrow I’ll attend Mass with my family.  On the great Feast of the Assumption…the feast of hope and promise, our sweet Mother has interceded and I couldn’t be much happier than I am right now…

But talk to me tomorrow after Mass.  I’m sure I’ll be even happier then!

Blessings,