Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – August 30th, 2010

Outside my window: Hazy, hot and humid.  Summer is enjoying its last “hurrah.”  Corn is rustly-dry, garden is on its last legs…but the tomatoes…ah, the tomatoes!  I could eat BLTs for the rest of the season.  And pico de gallo.  And salsa.  Nothing like a big, beefy, heirloom tomato…

I am listening to: the children as they watch a video.  The birds are strangely silent…must be the heat.

I am wearing : a pink tshirt and a pair of gray sweatpants/capris.  Dressing early for this evening’s physical therapy session.

I am thankful for: so many things.  For two weeks of company.  For the surprise Ladies Night Out party that took place at my house.  For an amazing homeschool retreat that is fueling the fire for the start of the new school year, for a surprise visit by two of my dearest friends – John and Christina.  For the additional joy of visiting with Tim and Krislynne for the second time in a week.  For friends who pray.  For family who love so well…for my Faith.  For Adoration.  I could go on and on…

I am reading: homeschool catalogs.  Still need to order books…and finesse lesson plans.

From the kitchen: hot coffee and bagels topped with peanut butter.  Lunch:   leftover smoke chicken…should make a delicious sandwich!  Dinner:  cheesy baked cavatappi, Italian bread and salad.

I am thinking: about the new school year.  Feeling a little overwhelmed…not too much…just trying to put it all together…

I am creating: lesson plans.  Want to knit “two at a time” toe-up socks.  Must…prioritize…

On my iPod: not listening too much…

Towards a real education: planning our liturgical celebrations and monthly displays.  Getting ready to have the kids help me with organizing the classroom.  I’m a fairly adept wheelchair general.  Time to muster the troops…

I am hoping and praying: that this school year ends as well as last year’s began.  My goal:  to work harder at sustaining the pace…trying hard to remain realistic and praying for the spirit of perseverance.  Considering all the health woes of last year, the children did amazingly well.  Praying we have fewer interruptions this year…

In the garden: Tomatoes.  Tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes…

Around the House: We’ve recovered from our busy days with our visitors.  Slowly catching up on the laundry (thanks, sweetie!) and just need to get the classroom in order.  I’ve learned to live with a certain amount of messiness.  I keep telling myself:  “just a few more months.  All things in God’s time…”

On keeping home: see above.

One of my favorite things: a husband who does the majority of the shopping, now that the wife can’t.  And one who ALWAYS brings home chocolate.  He loves me…oh, yes…he sure does!

A few plans for the rest of the week: create the next month’s menus.   Put classroom in order.   Work on lesson plans…

A picture thought I’m sharing:

Surprise visitors…what a gift!

John and Tim...best buddies!
Christina and Krislynne
Krislynne and Isabella

Blessings,