BACKWARD, turn backward, O Time, in your flight,
Make me a child again just for to-night!


Childhood is fleeting.   The time of wonder and the land of make believe, are gone in the blink of an eye…

How precious when they cling to it!  A fairy princess crowns a queen…a young knight slays a dragon.

No cell phone rings.  No computer games beckon.  Imagination flourishes in the quiet of a child’s heart and I rush to capture these few moments, gone so quickly…

Soon, all too soon, their childhood will be but a memory for them.

And for me.

But not today…today they are still small, though I marvel at how they’ve grown, they are still young enough to pretend…

And I’m old enough to want to remember, old enough to pretend that the ring crafted by a 10 year old rock hound, is as fine as any diamond…indeed, more beautiful, as it’s crafted with love.

No…I don’t have to pretend!  It’s real…the love that crafts the necklace, the ring, the memories…no imagination is required.  They slay me, as surely as knight has ever slain a dragon, so does their love and creativity undo me.

Blessings,