Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY – October 4th, 2010

Outside my window: gray sky…a chilly breeze tossing leaves and rustling cornstalks.  A decidedly Fall-ish morning, welcomed despite its apparent dreariness…

I am listening to: the morning news.  Wondering why on earth I tuned in this morning, only to hear a reporter tell a father, who had responded with extreme anger and frustration to his daughter’s continued harassment on a school bus, that “sometimes, kids just have to learn to fend for themselves…”  Kudos to the father, who at risk to his own freedom, defended his daughter (a special needs child) from violence and harassment.  And, of course, he was promptly arrested while the bullies remain at large…

Reason #5,782 outlining why our family homeschools…no bullies!

I am wearing : flannel pjs, beautiful handknit pumpkin orange merino socks (thanks, Sandra!) and a shawl.  I foresee a sweater and turtleneck in today’s wardrobe selection!

I am thankful for: yesterday’s Mass, great conversation with friends afterwards, a relaxing afternoon, and a sweet husband who made a rocking pot of chili and homemade cornbread.

I am (re) reading: Sonnets From the Portugese by Elizabeth Barrett Browning.  The intimacy of her poetry…the love so clearly written in every line and verse…makes me feel like I’ve stumbled upon a private conversation…or read her love letters…she takes my breath away…

From the kitchen: hot coffee, bagels and Nutella.   20 lbs. of apples waiting to be peeled, cored and converted into applesauce and apple butter.  Pie pumpkins…to be oven roasted and converted to pumpkin butter.  Oven baked BBQ ribs, baked beans and garlic cheese mashed potatoes for supper.  Cupcakes with cute animal sprinkles for dessert…it’s the Feast of St. Francis of Assisi!

I am thinking: about how well the school days are  going.  It’s exhausting.  Challenging.  Messy and noisy.  Praising God for it all…

I am creating: finishing a second Apple Hat.   My girls have enjoyed their Pumpkin Hats for the past 5 years…time for an update!  I use the Pumpkin Hat pattern, cast on 81 stitches, but omit the garter stitches, using red for the body of the hat and brown for the stem, and then a knit a simple leaf for adornment.  Very, very cute!


On my iPod:  Netflix!!  Watching British mini-series in my spare time…on Middlemarch currently.

Towards a real education: Loving Khan Academy for upper level math and Chemistry.  My boys are learning so much, and it’s really freed a lot of my instruction time.  For the youngers:  having fun with Greek history. Of course, October is just chock-full of wonderful Feast Days and the beauty of the changing season.  It’s hard not to love school right now…and it certainly helps that the students are enthusiastic…for now!

I am hoping and praying: for my Aunt Judy.  She’s attending R.C.I.A.  Most of our family is on the way to converting!  God is good…please keep Aunt Judy in your prayers…

In the garden: A few straggling tomato plants…we’ll harvest the remainder today.  Many seeds have been bagged and saved…we love our heirlooms!  It’s hard to believe the season is over…

Around the House: messy.  Too many things on too many surfaces.  Basics are done…kitchen is clean, classroom is tidied, living room is liveable…the rest:  well…we’ll deal with that later!

On keeping home: a ton of laundry to fold.  Damp, drizzly days have hampered our clothesline time…consequently, we’re behind on the laundry.  Time to play “catch up!”

One of my favorite things: sweaters and turtlenecks.  I love the temperature change…the coziness of a sweater, wool socks and the smell of pumpkins and cinnamon.  The sound of leaves crunching under foot and wind whistling in the eaves…

A few plans for the rest of the week: tweak my Fall menu, prepare for guests, live in the moment, pray more and worry less…

A picture thought I’m sharing:

School days:

Hershey Kiss roses...the children handed these out to friends at yesterday's Mass to mark the traditional Feast of St. Therese

Blessings,