Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAYOctober 15th, 2010

Outside my window: a mad swirl of falling leaves and raindrops…windy and wet…gray sky and deliciously chilly…

I am listening to: the whistling wind…

I am wearing : jeans, turtleneck and a cotton cardigan…robo-boot is back…suffering a bit of tendinitis and must give the foot a rest.  Do you think that four hour hike on Saturday had anything to do with it?  Probably…

I am thankful for: Movement.  Mobility.  Healing.  For this lovely season…the season of corn shocks, pumpkins and sweaters.  For three October birthdays…Caitlin yesterday, Abigail on the 19th and Ashley on the 23rd.  My precious girls…

I am reading: Looking for a good read…any suggestions?  Nothing too heavy or depressing, please!

From the kitchen: my favorite room…we’ve had so many wonderful meals lately…seems my creativity is best expressed in kitchen comforts.  Today:  pumpkin spice latte and peanut butter bagel for mom…eggs and cereal of the kiddies.  Lunch:  grilled cheese and tomato soup.  Dinner:  Soup again!  The Soup of Suffering…hehehe…and yummy homemade bread…

I am thinking: about so many different things.   About how things change…and this is good!  The only constant in life, other than God’s love, is change.  This can be both distressing and promising…the fervent become lax and the lax become fervent.  The healthy suffer, and the suffering are healed.  The rich become poor and the poor become rich.  The joyful experience sorrow and the sorrowful…joy.  We should never, ever despair…all things change.  We should never, ever become complacent…all things change.

All things…but not GOD…His love is ever constant, His care ever present, His desire to be united with His children for all eternity…unchanging…

I am creating: picking up some lace today to make a few of these…thanks, Kimberlee, for the outstanding tutorial!

On my iPod: reading a little Chesterton, listening to a lot of Coldplay during physical therapy and watching quite a few Netflix movies…

Towards a real education: school is going so very well.  Not perfectly, mind you.  But well…I’m amazed at the progress we’re making with such limited resources.  When I tell you my school book budget was “zero,” this is not an exaggeration!  And yet…I’ve “found” everything I’ve needed…not wanted…but needed.  And that’s what matters most.  My latest revelation:  all the books…all the resources in the world…will not make for a successful school year.  It’s all about the will.  Where there’s a will, there’s a way.  No doubt about it…this school year is living proof!  To God be all the glory…

I am hoping and praying: for my dear friends newest little one:  Bonaventura Sophia.  When you have a chance, offer a prayer for this sweet little one, perfectly healthy, loved and welcomed by her very happy family.   And, if you can, please pray for a lovely, faithful, homeschooling mom named Theresa who is battling breast cancer…

In the garden: The garden is no more…freezing temperatures on the way…all is mowed down and come February we’ll be planning for next season…

Around the House: it’s not Lent, and yet I have the desire to purge…to eliminate…to streamline…EVERYTHING!!  I…want…less!  Less…is…more!

On keeping home: See the above.   I’m devising a plan.  I’ll keep you posted…

One of my favorite things: Nights with my teen boys.  We have such funny conversations and they relish the “adult” time with mom and dad.  Never underestimate how much your teenagers need you.  They need your conversation.  They need your fellowship.  They need your direction and encouragement.  There are so many voices competing for supremacy in their lives.  The teen years are so, so brief…do not give into the false message that they “just need their space.”  No…they need you now more than ever…but not in a cloying, clinging way.  They need to know that you are there…that you’re consistent.  They should never, ever wonder “what would mom or dad think?”  They should know…they should know that they are loved.  Appreciated.  And that their salvation is the ultimate goal…God bless all parents of teenagers!

A few plans for the rest of the week: a meeting with my husband to discuss paring down our “stuff.”   Purging wardrobes and hitting the thrift stores to replenish those things that are really beyond serviceable.  Looking over our November liturgical celebrations.  Planning a bbq to celebrate a little girl’s birthday.

A few picture thoughts I’m sharing:

A fall hike…four hours of bliss!


 

GEOCACHE!!

 

Blessings,