Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAYNovember 11, 2010

Outside my window: deep blue sky and bright sunshine.  A spring-like morning…soon to be 70 degrees.  Wonderful!

I am listening to: my three young ones engaged in a wrestling match on the couch.  Silly kids…

I am wearing : a smile.  Blue jeans and a very soft, very cozy j jill sweater.  Hair in a messy twist…

I am thankful for: a successful surgery on Tuesday.  Thank you so much for your prayers.  A couple days of pain, but everything is much better today, just moderate residual pain.  Praising God that this ordeal is past.  And I’m tremendously thankful for my precious mother-in-law who has, single-handedly, washed nearly every article of clothing in this house.  My mudroom is nearly empty!

I am reading: mostly blogs right now.    And crochet and knitting patterns…that’s about it.

From the kitchen: The coffee maker is broken, thank heavens for my Bialetti!  Nothing like espresso to add a little zip to your morning!  Not sure about dinner this evening…

I am thinking: about Advent.  How I love the quiet of that holy season.   There is so very little that is needed to prepare for the long wait…just patience.   My goal:  to keep the season quiet.  Peaceful.  Focused.  To avoid the trap that the manic preparation for Christmas sometimes entails.  I will endeavor to remember that Christmas is not a day, it is a season…

I am creating: I learned how to make granny squares!!  I’m so happy!!  I made a small table runner in fall colors for our Thanksgiving table…now I’m envisioning small afghans for my children…a lap blanket for Grandma.  Is there anything quicker than the granny square?!  I’m still knitting…made a lovely sweater for my God-daughter, Bonaventura.  Getting ready to teach a young woman how to knit in the round…she wants to make a Christmas stocking for her baby daughter…

On my iPod: preparing an Advent/Christmas playlist.  For Advent I highly recommend Gregorian Advent.

Towards a real education: oh, to get real again!  My down time has but a real damper on the spirits of the scholars.  We’re going to try to get back on track today, but I’m much more hopeful about next week.  Meanwhile, this video has been an amazing affirmation that homeschooling is still the best option for this family…this snippet is only 11 minutes long…I hope to watch the whole thing soon!


I am hoping and praying: for a family who just lost a sweet baby girl, for another family who is in transition and struggling to make the best choice for their family, for a lovely mom who’s fighting breast cancer…Lord, have mercy!

In the garden: shhhhh…the garden is sleeping…

Around the House: piles of clean, folded laundry to put away.  The delightful scent of an orange and clove candle, a list for our Thanksgiving Day meal….

On keeping home: things are a bit out of order.  I really don’t care…this has been such a hard year…little by little, I’m trying to let go of my expectations and just take things as they come.  Every day is a gift…should I complain to the Giver if I don’t like how it’s “wrapped?”  I don’t think so!

One of my favorite things: a sweet hubby who brings me espresso with lots of cream and peanut butter toast.  He’s so good to me…

A few plans for the rest of the week: healing.  Reading with my children.  Letting the days unfold…

A few picture thoughts I’m sharing: more than a few!  Here’s what’s been happening for the past few weeks:

pumpkin carving:


Trick or treating:


Saints on parade:


A Traditional Latin Rite baptism (our God-daughter, Bonaventura Sophia):



 

Blessings,