Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAYDecember 6th, 2010

Outside my window: a blanket of white and more, softly falling.  How lovely to have snow on the Feast of St. Nicholas!

I am listening to: my children as they play…painting, building with Legos…the two big boys are constructing a catapult…

Are there any 12 year old boys who aren't "hams" for the camera?!

I am wearing : flannel pants and a pink sweatshirt…

I am thankful for: the joyful squeals from my children at 5:13 a.m.  Awakened from a sound sleep, there was a moment of panic before I realized that the cries were not from distress, but delight!  And they let me sleep in…for a few minutes!

I am reading: Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton (on my Ipod…free copy through Barnes and Noble app).  Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant man…and very funny, too!

“Poets do not go mad; but chess-players do. Mathematicians go mad, and cashiers; but creative artists very seldom. I am not, as will be seen, in any sense attacking logic: I only say that this danger does lie in logic, not in imagination.”

“The poet only asks to get his head into the heavens. It is the logician who seeks to get the heavens into his head. And it is his head that splits.”

From the kitchen: hot coffee, hot cocoa with peppermint and a delightful Candy Cane Coffee Cake…a little different from the recipe…I made my own dough, using a sweet roll recipe and concocted a sweetened cream cheese filling, with bands of strawberry jam and a yummy glaze.  It was delicious!  Dinner tonight:  oven baked BBQ ribs, baked potatoes and broccoli with cheese sauce...

I am thinking: about tomorrow’s surgery…I’m having two titanium screws removed from my heel.  Praying that this is the last and that improved mobility without pain will be on the horizon…thank you for your continued prayers!

I am creating: painting a few wooden princess dolls for my little girlies for Christmas.  Working on a lap blanket for my grandmother and hoping that my week of immobility will afford me a little more time for creativity!

On my iPod: Christmas music…oldies, but goodies!

Towards a real education: working primarily on core subjects to allow us to explore a bit more creativity.  The children have been making salt dough ornaments, coloring and painting, making paper chains to decorate their rooms…I love this season, and usually take off the month of December…we just can’t take off completely…mom has had too much “down time.”  Still…I’m very pleased with their progress, but most of all, with the spirit of cooperation and helpfulness that is being fostered by their witnessing a lot of suffering first hand…

I am hoping and praying: for a dear friend who has just come home from the hospital after a frightening infection/surgery.  Please keep my dear friends, Tim and Krislynne, in your prayers…

In the garden: a blanket of snow…

Around the House: a decorated mantle, a lovely silhouette, nativities, a large Advent wreath, the Jesse trees and the scent of orange spice candles…


On keeping home: my mudroom is cleaner than it’s been in three years.  And the laundry is nearly caught up.  The upstairs is clean.  Downstairs…pretty decent with the exception of the classroom which has become craft central…

One of my favorite things: peppermint and hot cocoa with whipped cream:


A few plans for the rest of the week: healing.  Maybe a trip to the Albert Family Tree Farm…I wonder if you can use crutches in the snow?  Or maybe I’ll just hang out with Mr. Albert at the big barn…a little knitting and crochet and a whole lot of painting…

A few picture thoughts I’m sharing:  rather, a lot of picture thoughts!  There’s been a lot going on…

St. Nicholas and Black Peter come to call at our parish party...
Always the joker, Joseph is first in line to sit on St. Nick's lap...I love my teenagers!

The three youngest anxiously await their turns...do you think he knows...everything? Really? I sure hope not!
Are you afraid of Black Peter and his wickedly long finger? Have you been very good?
Now here's a good young man...maybe? Maybe not...check your shoes tomorrow!
Oh...I think maybe you've been a little bad...just a little? No?
(Insert a "humph" and righteous indignation, here) No!! I've been good!
Ah...here's our next parish priest...is that so?
You're never too old for good, ol' St. Nicholas!
Brains...wisdom...beauty...these three have it all!