Dear friends…so sorry to leave you hanging for so long!  I do hope you’ve been enjoying the Christmas Season.  We’ve experienced so very many blessings, but alas, I’ve been quite under the weather and just can’t seem to get it together to post anything meaningful.  Pneumonia and the flu.  Daily fevers and paroxysmal coughing.  It just doesn’t want to let go.

Bear with me.  I haven’t thrown in the towel and you can bet I’ve been petitioning our Good God for mercy…but His will seems to involve a lot of immobility…quiet…inward reflection…and my will, to my shame, not a small amount of “wailing and gnashing of teeth…”

Ah…to be St. Bernadette.  Or St. Therese.  But I’m not…I know He sees the gold beneath the dross and the diamond in the rough, but, to quote a good friend, I really just feel like a great big ol’ lump of coal under pressure!  It takes a lot of pressure to make a diamond, doesn’t it?  And a lot of heat to burn away the dross to refine gold…

Now…if I can just remind myself that these refining actions are a favor, not a curse.  That I am blessed to be allowed this time to improve…yes…if I can quit lamenting and keep embracing the latest cross…that’s the key, right?

So.  Back to rest.  To reflection.  To acceptance of all things as blessing.

It’s a new year and all things are possible as the days, weeks and months stretch out before us.

Let us “proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor:”

“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free,
19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Luke 4:18-19

Blessings,