Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAYMarch 2nd, 2011

Outside my window: blue sky and the promise of Spring.  Bits of green herald the appearance of daffodil sprouts…and the local hardware store is advertising onion sets.  Oh, yes…Spring is on its way!   

I am listening to: Quiet conversation between two brothers…we’re starting school a little late this morning.  I’ve been up since 5:00 a.m., dropping off two teenage sons who are, once again, on their way to lend support to Ohio’s Heartbeat Bill.  Warriors in the fight for life…  

I am wearing : blue jeans, green cardigan and white button-down.  Dark circles…and a smile.

Gratitude list:

the beauty of a waning crescent with Venus brightly juxtaposed…

grocery store stocked with everything that anyone could need…

heated seats in a cold SUV…

pink and gold ribboned sky as sun makes its debut…

receding flood waters…

fellowship with the most amazing Catholic moms and dad…

raucous laughter of Catholic youth enjoying their own fellowship time…

hubby who saves his wifey the very last Snickers snack bar…

three small scars on the body of a healthy little girl…

muddy boots and muddy floors that loudly proclaim the coming of Spring…

I am reading: The Divine Office…the full text, a lovely gift from a good friend.  And looking forward to the delivery of Motherless by Brian Gail.  2nd book in the trilogy…

From the kitchen: hot coffee and strudel…waffles for the kiddies.  Dinner:  homemade chicken noodle soup and fresh bread.  Oatmeal Scotchies for dessert…

I am thinking: about so many things.  About projects I need to begin…some I need to finish.  About school and addressing burnout (again…and always during and after February!).  About home and organization.  Reflecting on a discussion I had with another mom about veiling…what it means and why we do…more on that later.  A million posts are swirling in my head…there just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day to do it all.  Baby steps…

 I am creating: a menu plan for Lent and an outline for our Lenten devotions.  Is it wrong that I’m so happy that Lent begins in March and not February?  Sacrifice is much more palatable when the sun is shining.  Also, made two pretty veils for the little girls…Kimberlee has a wonderful tutorial.  I followed her basic suggestions, but ended up cutting mine out first, and then machine stitched them, due to time constraints.  They turned out quite well!

On my iPod: a funny little app called “Bump” that lets me trade apps with my son by simply “bumping” my ipod with his.  Kinda neat…

Towards a real education: we’re limping along…reading much…having a great deal of fun creating pictures by graphing coordinates…in sore need of  some creativity.  Isn’t this always the way right before spring?  And itching for real, live nature study…you know…the kind you get when you actually go outside!  Of course…we must brave the wind, the mud and the still very chilly temperatures…

I am hoping and praying:   for the proper disposition as we enter the Holy Season of Lent…

In the garden:  I’ve been checking my seed stash…probably won’t need too much…can’t wait to begin starting a few trays on my grow table.  Will probably do that in a couple weeks.  Roger is planning to “brew” a little “tea.”  Trust me…you don’t want a pot of this stuff!  But it’s very, very good for the garden…

Around the House:   Considering converting an old wardrobe into a liturgical and feast day cabinet.  I’ve too many things scattered here and there.  One space, dedicated to all of our Lent, Easter, Advent, Christmas, Marian feast day items and materials would certainly be nice…

On keeping home:   Need to make plans for our annual Spring and Easter Cleaning.  Boy…this place could use it right now!

One of my favorite things:   A quiet house…they’re all outside…enjoying the bright sunshine and mud.  Silence…is…good!  In moderation…

A few plans for the rest of the week:   Write down my Lenten plans and menu, begin organizing the wardrobe, purchase bins for the same, try to get outside for at least a little bit each day…

A few picture thoughts I’m sharing:

Two pretty girls with orange soda smiles, sporting veils made by Mom...
...and two nifty drawstring pouches to hold those pretty veils!

Blessings,