Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAY –  May 15th, 2011

Outside my window:  soft and misty rain falling upon emerald green grass.  A host of newly planted impatiens bejeweled with glistening drops…chilly breeze and gray sky.  Perfect nap weather…

I am listening to:  the patter of raindrops upon the window panes.  The voices of my four youngers…the two teens are visiting with friends.

I am wearing :  black peasant skirt, bright pink paisley tunic…barefoot and thinking about putting on a pair of cozy socks.  Chilly in here…

Gratitude list:  

strawberries…all red and glistening

scent of barbecue wafting through the kitchen…

squeals of children, sand-covered and joy-filled…

running and dodging swiftly falling raindrops…

sunlight on golden haired girl…

warmth of mulch beneath my hands…

irises unfurling in glorious profusion…

voices mingling, Ave Maria…

veiled woman, rosary-praying and smiling

I am reading:  The Invisible World by Anthony DeStefano.  So simple, yet so eloquent.  It’s a quick read, but I’ve really been taking my time with it.  The tone is conversational, the subject matter infinitely intriguing, and Mr. DeStefano’s treatment of all things “invisible” is thoroughly orthodox.  My favorite chapter thus far:  Invisible Grace.  I’ll be reading this chapter to my children this evening…

From the kitchen:  deliciousness.  Oven baked BBQ ribs (too much wind and rain for grilling!), baked beans and rosemary/garlic potatoes.  Strawberries and Cream trifle for dessert. 

I am thinking:  that I’m so very blessed.   Thank you, dear Lord, for this beautiful life and for the many graces that You continue to shower upon Your child. 

I am creating:  a simple white shrug for a little girl…

Towards a real education:   just signed up for a one week trial of Homeschool Connection.  Is anyone out there using this resource?  For $1.00, I thought it might be worth a week’s perusal.  Please…I’d love to hear how other families are using this resource.  Comments most appreciated! ( If you’re not familiar with the program, check out the link on my sidebar.)

I am praying:  for two precious little girls preparing for their First Holy Communion.  My little Rylee and her dearest friend, Maria, will make receive the Sacrament together, according to the Extraordinary Form.  The date is not yet fixed, but we’re looking towards the end of June, first of July.  Also, praying for my soon-to-be-born goddaughter, Sophia.  This Friday her mommy is scheduled for a c-section.  Please pray for Tara if you would…

In the garden:  spent a rainy Saturday picking up herbs and a few bedding plants.  The rest of the afternoon was spent mulching, weeding and planting…and dodging the raindrops!   Also, I’m now writing a gardening column for a dear friend’s periodical, Columbus Cuisine.  All things food, with a little organic gardening thrown in for fun! 

Around the house:  red and white impatiens, a few volunteer Brandywine tomatoes popping up, here and there….chickens, kits, cats and kids…and the promise of a lovely summer ahead (and a whole lot of mosquitos, thanks to all this rain!)

On keeping home:  the laundry is behind.  Again.  It seems we no sooner completed the repairs on the washer and then the dryer element burnt out.  With very little sunshine, lots of rain and high humidity, it’s been difficult to keep on top washing and drying for eight people.  Praying hubby picks up the element this week…

One of my favorite things:  sunny days, clean laundry whipping dry in the cool breeze…children laughing in the sandbox…Corona and lime while rocking on the front porch…early sunrises and late sunsets…swiftly moving clouds revealing expanses of bright blue…

A few plans for the rest of the week:  playing catch-up…and hoping to begin winding things up for the year.  I really need to have a true summer break.  Last year was so hard…and this year has started out with a new set of challenges, but with God all things are possible!  I’ve been fighting the demon of doubt and self-recrimination…much prayer, the encouragement of friends and family do much to put things in proper perspective.  I hope you forgive me, dear friends, for my long absences…I’ve been trying to follow the advice of a holy priest to try to limit distraction as much as possible.  This space, this place where I pour out my thoughts and share the ups and downs of this crazy, beautiful, blessed life…it is NOT a distraction.  I’m blessed by it.  But…sometimes…the words are just hard to come by.  Even now, I’m struggling, trying to order my thoughts, sharing what is most important and trying to sift through all the rest.  Thank you for your friendship.  For your patience.  For visiting with me and sharing our journeys.  You bless me by your presence…

A few picture thoughts I’m sharing:

May Crowning...



Blessings,