When you’re raising chickens, fresh eggs are one of your best bartering tools.  Not only that, every friend we have appreciates an occasional gift of a dozen beautifully enormous brown  eggs…

And so, it was our intention, to provide a gift of a dozen, free-range farm fresh eggs to our Adoration partners and friends, Gary and Molly.  Likewise, Gary and Molly offered us an equally enviable gift:  goldenrod honey from a local beekeeper.  If you’ve never tried goldenrod honey, you’re in for a treat!  Light and delicious…the perfect accompaniment to homemade biscuits.

But I digress…

Last night, we returned to Adoration, without eggs for our dear friends, because we’ve run out of cartons…we’re currently storing them by the bowlful in the fridge.  As we approached the sign-in desk, Molly motioned to me, smiling broadly:

“Did you enjoy the honey?”  she whispered.

“Oh, yes!  It is delightful!  I’m sorry I didn’t bring you any eggs this evening…I’m out of cartons…”   I offered.

She chuckled.  “I’ll save you some…by the way, I liked the “trick egg…”

“Trick egg?  What trick egg?”  Worriedly, I wondered if we’d given her a dud…ick.

“Well,”  she whispered, giggling  “I was preparing scrambled eggs for supper last night, and pulled out a some of the largest eggs.  I cracked one…it was huge!  And then I grabbed the next one.  I hit it on the pan.  Nothing.  I thought maybe our fridge had frozen it!  I hit it again and again before I finally realized:  it was a hardboiled egg.  Hehehe…Gary and I had a real laugh over that one!”

I laughed…much too loud for Adoration…and then remembered that last week when we asked Zachary to fill a carton for Gary and Molly, I had placed one hard-boiled egg on the shelf, separate from the rest of the eggs.  In his quest to fill that carton as quickly as possible, he grabbed every egg he could find…including the hardboiled one.  Too funny!

Our chickens are always in “hot water,” so to speak.  Free-ranging, they’re constantly marauding amongst the new seedlings, flowers, etc.  I’ve chased more than a couple away, with threats of Sunday dinner menu plans…but thus far, I’ve never had one lay a hard-boiled egg…

God bless friends with a good sense of humor…

Blessings,