Visit Peggy at The Simple Woman for more Daybook entries!

FOR TODAYNovember 18th, 2011

Outside my window: fading light as dusk approaches…blue sky, bare branches and blowing leaves, crisp and dried upon the lawn.  Free ranging chickens scrabbling for the last bits of green…

I am listening to:  the chatter of the children in conversation with one another, discussing hiking memories…discussions about gloves and hats and this evening’s outing…

I am wearing : blue jeans tucked into black leather boots, cream turtleneck and a fallish-colored sweater jacket.  And bangs…I cut my hair a few days ago…long layers and bangs for the first time in several years.  I like it…

Gratitude list:  late night Adoration with the children, hot coffee on a cold day, teens who still like to go places with Mom and Dad, the delighted eyes of a child contemplated an evening at the Zoo, children who complete chores quickly, a teen son who’s not afraid to send a couple rowdy children up to their rooms for a little quiet time, first quarter of college pretty much complete…all A’s so far…

From the kitchen: Lots of gluten free goodies.  I’m getting pretty good this.  I don’t like it, but I’m learning to live with and to find more than satisfactory substitutes for my favorites.  More on that in another post.  I think it’s time that someone was really, really honest about a few of the products out there.  I’ve been let down by more than a couple recipes and products.  As for this evening:  sandwiches.  Just a quick bite as we head out to the Columbus Zoo’s Wildlights display. 

I am thinking: that college work has been a lot easier to juggle than I thought it would be.  I’m taking 15 hours in the upcoming quarter…and I’ve discovered that Algebra is my favorite subject.  Philosophy?  Meh.  I’ll take a straight-up quadratic equation over a philosophical quandary any day.  Composition has been relatively pleasant, though I’ve been pretty well shocked over the regular use of text-isms in essays and responses.  Does no one write anymore?  Grammar and content are problematic, but the text-isms are irritating to the extreme…

I am creating: simplified plans for Advent.  No mania, just our traditional activities.  We just finished creating a stack of ATCs for Kimberlee’s annual trade.  It was a lot of fun…

Towards a real education: Weather units and beginning Latin. Algebra and Physics. US History and Composition…and for mom: Philosophy and Writing…with an ugly dose of Algebra to make it all worthwhile…certainly odd to teach Algebra and take it at the same time!

I am praying: for Matthew Wise, a young man who’s been in intensive care for quite a few weeks now, as well as a small child who will have brain surgery in December, and for a dear homeschooling mom who just had surgery for thyroid cancer and is recovering.  Would you join me in prayer?  Thanks!

In the garden: Shhhh…the garden is sleeping….

Around the house: a good deal more order, but a lot of laundry.  That will change after a weekend of marathon washing and drying.  Thank you, Lord, for my laundry room!

On keeping home: hoping to do a bit of sprucing up for Thanksgiving.  I would really like to paint a couple rooms, but I’m not sure that’s realistic.  We’ll see…

One of my favorite things:  Columbus Zoo’s Wildlights.  Can’t wait to go this evening…the kiddos are joyfully preparing as I type…

A few plans for the rest of the week: school work Monday thru Wednesday and then the long weekend off with Daddy.  I’m looking forward to completing a few crafts…

A picture thought I’m sharing:

Row 1:  Michael’s ATCs:  St. Aloysius Gonzaga, St. Patrick, St. Michael, St. Anthony, St. Francis

Row 2:  Maximilian’s ATCs:  Our Lady Of Guadalupe, St. Maximilian Kolbe, St. Nicholas, St. Francis, St. Pio

Row 3:  Mom’s ATCs:  Theotokos, St. Gabriel, St. Pio, St. Nicholas, Blessed Seelos

Row 4:  Abigail’s ATCs:  St. Margaret, St. Lucy, St. Rose, St. Bernadette, St. Mary Magdalene

Row 5:  Rylee’s ATCs:  St. Elizabeth Seton, St. Dominic, Blessed Mother Teresa, St. Joseph, St. Lucia

Blessings,