At the cross her station keeping,

Kneeling in the shadow of the Cross…this is the posture of most every mother at some time or other.  Yet…never have the words of the Stabat Mater resonated as deeply in my heart as they do now…

Throughout this ordeal with my daughter, the image of the Sorrowful Mother has been constantly before my eyes.  Perhaps it’s my own tear-stained, grief ridden visage that I recognize, as I gaze upon her.  Our Holy Mother, her heart broken, pierced and sorrowful, wept for sinful mankind…for the loss of her precious child…and prepared to be Mother to those who had abandoned and murdered her Son…

…stood the mournful mother weeping…

I weep too.  My child…my sweet, beautiful, compassionate yet imperfect girl…has been taken from me, at least figuratively for a time, by this horrible accident.  But I know that my heart must be pierced, too.  It must be.  This is the way of sorrow for all mothers who want nothing more than the salvation of their children.  God the Father didn’t spare His own son suffering…nor did He spare His mother the anguish of watching her precious child suffer…this is how sin was defeated, how life came to us all…how the gates of Heaven are opened.

Through her heart, His sorrow sharing,
all His bitter anguish bearing,
now at length the sword has passed.

Dear Father…pierce my heart…use this suffering to save souls, to help me work out my own salvation with fear and trembling.  Help me to follow in my daughter’s path of suffering, as faithfully as our Holy Mother followed Jesus to the Cross.  Allow me to help her bear the bitter anguish that she’s feeling as she is beginning to understand a bit better her limitations.  Help me to soothe the heartache, to be encouraging rather than condemning.  Help me, Father, that I desire nothing for her but that which leads her straight to You, no matter how difficult the path.

Holy Mother…come to the aid of your poor child.  Heal her heart first, turn it firmly towards your Son.  Help her to live in light and love…

She’s home with us now, but only for a time…long enough for her to prepare to journey back to Kentucky and a try at independence.  Please pray for her…there are so many risks, limitations and frustrations awaiting her.  May God bless you for your kindness…

Blessings,

Kimberly