Like a big blue wall, curving gentle upon the edge of the earth, the ocean presented itself.

She cried.  Ten years old and she’d never seen anything so big, so bright, so awesome.  And I, who for the many years that I grew up surrounded by surf and shore, heart jaded by such common beauty, watched her and wondered how all those years I’d never wept in thanksgiving for it.

And then last night.  A blood red moon kissed the whitecaps upon the night dark sea.  Hubby and I stood hand in hand and the words that have been so locked up inside me for so many months are finally here.  Words of praise that magnify the Lord, His goodness, His beauty and wisdom.  Seated on the balcony shortly after, I raised a toast to my God…for His Love and mercy for this creature who had forgotten to thank him for such simple things.  I should weep with tears of gratitude like a ten year old girl, seeing God’s hand stretched far across a rippling, seemingly infinite horizon

This morning, Max and I raced the sun and met her, a molten orb rising from a pool of pure gold, beams of pink and gold etched against the blue.  I wept again…I’ve seen many sunrises and gloried in each, yet this one seemed different.  And then I realized…

They’re all different.  It is only I who see things as the same…but I’m changed and everything seems new to these tired eyes…

Since Meredith’s accident, I’ve been living so cautiously, afraid of the next wave…afraid of what may or may not come.  I haven’t really been able to live or even love well, though I’ve tried desperately to hide it, busying myself like a true Martha, “anxious and troubled about many things.”

So here is the better part.  Here.  With my loves.  My big guys are staying three floors below us with the dearest friends, reveling in fellowship with one another, while Roger and I are reveling in these four young ones…children now and every moment of childhood racing quickly by.  We are “yes” people.  Yes to all this.  Yes to this joy, at this moment, in this place.

Cherishing the message that our good God wants to share with all His children…

Blessings,